We tried

I tried to make it better.
I tried to help you see that it would be ok.
I tried, even when I didn’t believe it myself
Even when I knew that it might not be ok.
Even when I was so scared that it wasn’t going to be ok.
I tried to promise you that, even when both of us knew I couldn’t promise it at all.
But I tried.
You tried to let me believe that you believed me.
You tried, when we both knew you didn’t.
You tried to make me believe that it would all be ok when you were gone.
Even when you couldn’t look me in the eyes while you told me that.
Because you knew it wouldn’t be ok when you were gone.
Even though you knew that it was goodbye you were saying with those words.
But you tried.

Leave a Reply

