The good kind of trigger

I still find it unnerving how sometimes, something comes into my life seemingly magically.

I had ordered a book through my library last week. A book by Pema Chodron called “Smile at Fear”. I’ve been interested in her books for a while but having gotten around to reading any of them. Now seemed like the right time. Change is happening and it feels like the time to focus and put some direction to understanding that change is now.

So I go to pick up the book after I received the email that it was in and I was surprised to see that I must have ordered the audio book because that’s what was there. I’ve never done the audio book think before… I love to read and hold the book and feel the pages. I had listened to radio stories when I was in my teens and, while I enjoyed them, it just wasn’t the same as reading.
But I figured, why not give it a try. It’s Pema herself doing the reading and I’ve seen her in enough interviews to know that she has a beautiful voice… and it’s her book… so what the heck. Might be fun for a change to have something read to me.

So I glance at the back of the box when I get home and read it more carefully and am upset to find out that it’s not actually just an audio reading of the book by the author but instead, it’s a recording of a retreat that she speaks at that is based on the principles of her book… hmmmm.
Well, I have it here and might as well listen to it…

Imagine my surprise when, 15 minutes into listening I find myself enraptured that she has hit the nail on the proverbial head with what I need to hear. A simple gift from the universe…
Not what I expected but precisely what I needed. A trigger, the good kind for a change…

Leave a Reply

